Cyber-related PESCO projects



12 November 2019


The Council of the EU


On 11 December 2017, the Council adopted a decision establishing Permanent Structured Cooperation (PESCO). PESCO enables EU member states to work more closely together in the area of security and defence. This permanent framework for defence cooperation allows willing and able member states to develop jointly defence capabilities, invest in shared projects, and enhance the operational readiness and contribution of their armed forces.

The 25 member states participating in PESCO are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain and Sweden.

The Council formally adopted the first set of 17 projects on 6 March 2018 and the second set of 17 projects on 20 November 2018. On 12 November 2019, the Council adopted an updated list of 13 projects to be undertaken under PESCO. This decision brings to 47 the number of projects that are currently in place.

There are currently 8 PESCO cyber-related projects:

  • European Secure Software defined Radio (ESSOR)
  • Cyber Threats and Incident Response Information Sharing Platform
  • Cyber Rapid Response Teams and Mutual Assistance in Cyber Security
  • Strategic Command and Control (C2) Systems for CSDP Missions and Operations
  • European High Atmosphere Airship Platform (EHAAP) – Persistent Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance (ISR) Capability
  • One Deployable Special Operations Forces (SOF) Tactical Command and Control (C2) Command Post (CP) for Small Joint Operations (SJO) – (SOCC) for SJO