BRICS Ufa Declaration





Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa (BRICS)


BRICS leaders declared to support the evolution of the Internet governance ecosystem, which
should be based on an open and democratic process, free from the influence of any unilateral considerations. They also agreed that the use and development of ICTs through international cooperation and universally accepted norms and principles of international law is of paramount importance in order to ensure a peaceful, secure and open digital and Internet space.
The Working Group of Experts of the BRICS States on security in the use of ICTs were mandated to initiate cooperation in the following areas: sharing of information and best practices relating to security in the use of ICTs; effective coordination against cyber-crime; the establishment of nodal points in memberstates; intra-BRICS cooperation using the existing Computer Security Incident Response Teams (CSIRT); joint research and development projects; capacity building; and the development of international norms, principles and standards.